Fade Image 4Third FadeSecond Fade ImageFirst Fade Image

'Pure Peace' - Country Living Magazine August 2011

What an amazing, relaxing and pleasant environment

Testimonials

Read a selection of reviews from Tripadvisor (83 reviews rated OUTSTANDING)

 

I absolutely adored this place. I was lucky enough to stay here for a week by myself in May 2017. I booked up a ton of massages and treatments and entered zone bliss. I stayed in The Retreat which is a cosy cottage I immediately fell in love with. Marshmallow beds and pillows, a small fully equipped kitchen and a lounge with soft chairs, books and an outlook over a pretty cottage garden. There are small personal touches which make a big difference; dried lavender muslin bags on your pillow, an aromatherapy associates oil burner, handmade bath salts with essential oils for the bath. The therapists are all, without exception, warm and nurturing professionals who are interested in a good experience for you and do everything they can to make it so. I highly recommend Stephanie's Thai Massage and luxury facial, debbie henderson for massage (I got her back twice more I loved her so much), Marilyn Courtney for a soothing massage, Rosie Vincent's reflexology. I did a one on one session with Loretta which I loved and left me very tranquil. I also saw Suzi Taylor and Maureen Dickey for some life coaching....they both have different approaches and they were both fabulous to work with. One aspect which makes this place so special is the atmosphere...there is not a starched sheet or impersonal beauty therapist in sight. Without exception, everyone was keen to ensure I was superbly looked after and wanted the best for me. I have not felt so nurtured since I was a child!! This place is quiet, soothing and exceptionally special. 3 weeks after my initial stay I brought my husband and 7 year old son back so they could enjoy it too. They just loved it. I highly recommend Witherdens Hall for unprentious warmth and luxury. An absolute treat. Reviewed June 2017

 

My friend and I wanted to get away and to create our own retreat. We spent two nights here and the accommodation was very clean, attractive and had many special touches, such as lots of inspiring books and magazines to leaf through, films to watch,Neil's Yard toiletries and towelling robes. We had a massage on arrival from a visiting therapist we booked, which was the perfect start to winding down after a busy week. We had a small, well equipped kitchen, so had shopped in the nearby farm shop before arriving and cooked a simple dinner both nights so we didn't have to venture out. We slept well in really comfortable beds and wonderful quiet, and were gently awoken in the morning by birdsong outside. We enjoyed an organic breakfast, including eggs from the chickens in the garden. There was also a sauna, steam cabinet and outdoor, heated pool in the garden. The owner was very friendly and welcoming, and Marietta in the office gave us all the information we needed. A really special stay and great value for money. I look forward to returning. Reviewed May 2017

 

This is a fabulous place to come for a personalised retreat break. It is a beautiful setting, very tranquil and serene, and the accomodation is tastefully and comfortably furnished. The office makes booking a dream, and Marietta goes out of her way to answer any queries swiftly and efficiently. There is a very comprehensive list of therapists you book treatments directly with. Everyone on site is friendly and welcoming but you are left to your own space and pace. I found the therapies outstanding and all holistic, unlike spa breaks I have previously chosen. I used the food delivery company option as I did not want to be cooking too much on a break like this. I would definitely return if I need this kind of time out again in the future. I found it very good value for money too. Reviewed May 2017

 

Witherdens Hall is a unique and special place. A place to relax, retreat and savour the beautiful environment. Both therapists I booked were exceptional and in a different league to spa or spa hotels. The accommodation is beautiful - best described as sophisticated simplicity. The accommodation is fitted to high spec, fab beds, kitchen facilities, sauna, steam and swimming pool. Everything works like a dream. spotlessly clean and smells divine. Best of all is the welcome and ongoing care - where Witherdens quickly feels like home from home. Reviewed May 2017.

 

The Retreat was a delightful, characterful cottage property on the Witherdens estate - close to but not too close to the main house. The cottage is decorated in a tastefully subdued, clean-lined style, with quality furnishings and equipment. The peace and quiet of the location is a big plus - we made use of the small but lovely swimming pool when weather allowed: Craig kindly put the heating on early in the season for us, which was nice. The field around the house is useful for early morning exercising of the dog. Nearby, there are footpaths for walking - try the 5mile easy hike between the local villages, which is a delight on a good day. Local pubs in Wingham - The Anchor is especially welcoming and easy-going. Getting into Canterbury for sightseeing was easy, too. All in all, a restful 8 night stay. We wish we could come back.  Reviewed April 2017

 

I just wanted to send a big thank you for all your help facilitating such a wonderful mini break for me at Witherdens Hall.  It took me a while to switch off but I really enjoyed the relaxed tranquility of the suite and surrounding amenities.  I have had to leave this evening due to an early morning meeting I've been pulled into but leave thoroughly refreshed.  I had some fabulous treatments and have definitely reenergised for what promises to be a busy next few months!!   Reviewed April 2017

 

Thank you for a marvellous stay - I hope to be back soon! And will be recommending to all my friends and family! Reviewed April 2017

 

I just wanted to say a huge thank you for a wonderful few days away. It was just what I needed and so incredible to have help from Adrienne, Marilyn and Pat while I was there. They were all a fantastic source of knowledge and support.

It was great to get away and reset for a few days and I hope to do it again this year and possibly bring my family and dogs for a short break too. The cottage was beautiful and had everything I needed to relax.   Reviewed Jan 2017

 

We are on our way back to the mayhem of London - and just wanted to write to thank you so much for the most wonderful stay.  Everything was simply perfect.  It's a beautiful place you have created and we could feel the warmth right from the very first welcome email we received.  Thank you.  We will be sending our friends your way and anyone else we come across.   Reviewed Jan 2017.

 

A beautiful retreat space to reflect and rejuvenate. I spent a few days here between Xmas and new year and it was ideal in giving me a comfortable space to reflect on my year and reassess my goals for the next one. The accommodation itself is home away from home, with all comforts and luxuries including Neales yard treats! The bath tub is like a jacuzzi and the magnetic bed is amazingly relaxing. I didn't use the mini spa but I did have a massage and it was the best I'd ever had! Overall a fantastic break and I can't wait to book again soon. Reviewed Jan 2017.

 

From the moment I contacted Witherdens Hall, I had a feeling I was going to have a great time. When I arrived I was greeted by such lovely friendly people. Marietta showed me to my accommodation and took me around the beautiful retreat. I had such a fantastic time that I didn't want to leave. It was relaxing and invigorating. The weather was gorgeous so I got a chance to use the swimming pool and sunbathe outside! I was lucky to have a couple of treatments, reiki and reflexology. They were superb! It was great to have lovely chats with Louise, Craig and the team! I would definitely recommend it to others. Thanks Witherdens Hall for making my holiday perfect.  Reviewed Sept 2016

 

Witherdens is a gem in the countryside, an absolutely stunning retreat suitable for people who want a quiet and peaceful break from their ordinary lives. I had been before and once again it was immediately hospitable, with owners who were so welcoming and genial, even taking time out of their evening to drive me around the village to look for a lost belonging. The breakfast, tailored to my very particular dietary needs, was fantastic and the organic eggs from their own chickens were almost fluorescent in colour. The atmosphere was incredible; as I swam in the solar heated pool, sparrows would swoop down above me and bees would hum around me. The open fields were perfect for yoga and a woodpecker joined me on one session! I spent my days hiking and had a reiki session with Marilyn who had an incredible intuition. The MiniSpa was lovely and the infrared sauna perfect to complement the treatment. Witherdens is a unique and special place, perfect for those looking for someone peaceful to take time to relax, contemplate and enjoy nature. It truly is somewhere to retreat to in this busy world and I cannot praise it highly enough.  Reviewed August 2016

 

We had a wonderful time at The Retreat in January for my husband's Birthday. We were made to feel incredibly welcome (nothing was too much trouble). Lovely walks (even in the middle of winter), nice and easy to get to AND from booking to leaving an all-in-all great experience. Can't recommend The Retreat highly enough!  Reviewed May 2016.

 

Perfect setting for complete relaxation, in the midst of lush Kent countryside, with the sea not too far away. Set in secluded grounds, the retreat is supremely comfortable with wonderful hosts. What we particularly loved is the lack of pressure: do a lot or nothing at all, whatever suits! If it's quiet relaxation you want without feeling you are in a "programme", The Retreat cannot be bettered. Stayed May 2016, travelled as a couple 

 

Not a typical spa retreat. Totally the opposite. There is a cottage - suitable for a family and a suite - suitable for a single person or a couple - rather like a studio flat. Both are next to the main farm house. Breakfast consists of fresh organic bread, freshly laid eggs, fresh apple juice, etc. that you prepare yourself.  A quiet place to relax and have total seclusion from a busy life. You can go for walks along the farmland or drive to nearby towns - there is a lot to do if you want to venture out. Canterbury is about 20 minutes drive.  The treatments are booked individually by you and the therapists give treatments in the workshop rooms next door. I had two treatments - one with Ben and the other with Suzi. Both wonderful people who I found really caring and genuine. I left my weekend feeling really relaxed. The staff are friendly and helpful (especially Marietta) but will leave you alone unless you need anything.  If you want to get away from everything - then perfect. The internet connection can be a bit dodgy at times but other than that - it was lovely. Thank you. R.J. April 2016

 

I stayed at the retreat with my mother and sister and was completely blown away!!  The people were friendly and welcoming and the amenities were superb. Nothing was too much trouble for the people who lived and work there.  The treatments left us feeling wonderfully relaxed. There is plenty of countryside to visit and a farm shop nearby.  Witherdens hall has an aura of peace and tranquillity and I can not wait to return. A wonderful spa break with a difference.  Stayed April 2016, travelled with family

 

Me and my husband expended 3 lovely and relaxing days, we turned off our mobiles for the whole time and enjoyed the walks and the fresh air, the Farmer's shop close by has lovely, fresh and organic food. Marietta and Craig were splendid with us. Breakfast was great and the room "The Suite" perfect for us. We booked "Swedish massage" and that was spot on. We hope to come back anytime soon! Room Tip: "The Suite" room is perfect for a couple.  Stayed March 2016, travelled as a couple

 

Witherden Halls is a magical spot and the positive vibes can be felt as soon as you enter the grounds. Louise and her team are so welcoming.  I first went there after I needed some desperate me time after a rough patch. I have a great family and love my all my pets but sometimes you just to need to be alone. I looked into many places. I found a spa is all about pampering and retreats are a bit too full on for me. Witherden Halls offers a bit of both.  I had an amazing massage with Ben Barnett and the most amazing reiki healing session with Marilyn. Marilyn is clearly a very special person. Her love and healing soothes your soul. I have been back several times and I am planning my next visit. Great long walks too, so take some comfy walking shoes.  All my time spent there just makes me a better and happier being. Better for my world at home, and better for my soul….. Stayed February 2016, travelled solo

 

I recently stayed at Witherdens Hall, in the cottage, and it was pure bliss - a home away from home. Just what I needed to get away from my particularly hectic schedule and rather stressful time.  What I wanted from my trip: (Witherdens Hall ticked all boxes!):  1. Spend time on my own for some peace and quiet, not in a group of people.  2. Some therapeutic elements to the trip, both physical and mental, but I didn't want to do what a schedule dictated to me.  3. Eat cleaner whilst I was away, but didn't want to have to buy lots of food and cook it myself.  Unlike many spa breaks, or yoga / fitness retreats with regimented with schedules, Witherdens Hall is a refreshing empty canvas, allowing you to create the break that you're after: Quite simply, you book the cottage/suite, and then you can overlay other elements, as you wish.  The Cottage is beautiful, cosy, and clean. I slept so soundly on their magnetic bed.   Re: the therapeutic elements - You can add treatments with one of their many fantastic partnered professionals, who come onsite, either to your cottage or the therapy room. I booked a back massage with Debbie, which was honestly one of the best back massages I have ever had (& I've had a lot!), a breakthrough session with Suzi (mindfulness-based session), and yoga with Loretta - who was absolutely fantastic - so knowledgeable, engaging, and very perceptive. My time with Suzi & Loretta left such an imprint that I have continued my yoga and mindfulness with courses back in London.  Re: the food, I ordered with Nas at myfood.co.uk. I chose the1000cal p/day diet for the 5 days that I was there. The food is all freshly prepared, and delicious! Very filling and satisfying. They have lots of options for vegetarians and vegans, which is great. The food was all packaged up neatly Nas was so lovely - incredibly helpful, and friendly and really seemed to care about what she was doing. There are other options for food deliveries; I think there was a company offering a juice diet (can't remember what that's called!) and of course you can buy food at the local farm shop (about a 10min walk), and cook it yourself. I went to the farm shop a couple of times which is great - fresh produce and a cafe serving hot and cold food during the day.  Last, but not least, the Witherdens Hall staff themselves are simply wonderful people! Marietta helped me book the stay, and is responsible for running the business day to day, and Louise & Craig are the owners. They could not make me feel any more welcome than what they did; nothing was too much trouble for them, and they gave me lots of spaces, totally respecting the fact that I was enjoying some me-time.  For me, to get away and have the lovely trip was amazing, but to know the establishment was being run by such lovely, kind hearted people made it even better. I will absolutely stay again - I need to get booking!  Room Tip: The Cottage is wonderful. I travelled alone and it didn't feel odd, or too big.  Stayed January 2016

 

 

I stayed at Witherdens alone in The Retreat. A very peaceful, cozy cottage. I needed a break away from daily stress and fuss, and this place gave me just that. The cottage was clean, cosy, comfortable and warm which was much welcomed over the very chilly weekend. Had everything I needed for a relaxing stay. Kitchen was clean and fully equipped. Jacuzzi bath was very nice. In the cold weather, don't bother running the cold tap as the hot water isn't boiling hot. It’s just enough for a nice hot bath. I slept on the magnet therapy bed and didn't wake up until 9am! I had a Breakthrough therapy session with Suzi, which has been a great resource since my return home. I also had some Reiki with Marilyn, which was wonderful and left me feeling relaxed and positive. The couple who own Witherdens, Louise and Craig were very welcoming and charming. I look forward to returning for my next escape from life. C.S, February 2015

 

Following an extremely stressful period, my husband and I spent 2 nights at the retreat. The peace and calmness that the retreat offers is amazing. My husband's Reiki treatment with Marilyn provided him with a much needed boost and relief from pain that he has not had for quite a while. I had a transformational session with Ben and returned to London in a much better place than I had arrive. From the time we booked the retreat to the time we left we wanted for nothing. S.B, January 2015 

 

We just left the suite and as we couldn't get though to you on the phone thought we would email to say thank you-we've had wonderful relaxing weekend. The reiki with Marilyn was an especially positive experience. We will definitely be coming back! Thank you so much for the lovely stay! We will definitely be back! The treatments were divine!!! - hopefully see you again very soon. J&K, August 2014

 

Our little haven - Thank you so much for such a warm reception, we had such a lovely time and we are now relaxed and ready to go back to the stresses of work today (well, not really!). We would love to come back very soon, I think this may be our little haven! C&C, September 2013

 

A great weekend - We loved our stay at Witherdens Hall even though we didn\'t have time to use the pool... what a shame! It was a great weekend and everyone was so welcoming and genuinely kind and nice so THANK YOU! A.R, July 2013

 

A little bit of heaven - I arrived at a very difficult time in my life and left with a whole new outlook; ready for changes and challenges. The tranquility, the accommodation and the beautiful people I met have really helped me in such a short space of time. The bedroom was just devine and the sauna room really helped me to feel rested and calm - something I have not felt in some time. I am truly grateful to you for suggesting the books, the sessions with Suzi and Marilyn and the Mindfulness course. You are a wonderful person and a fantastic host. I will always remember you as the angel who came into my life at the right time and was instrumental in helping me discover aspects of myself and pointing me to a new way of thinking. R.B, April 2013

 

Perfect in every way - We found The Retreat quite by chance as we were trawling the web to find somewhere suitable for children, close to Howletts Zoo and also a lovely standard for the adults! The Retreat was just perfect in every way; beautifully clean and ready for our arrival with organic local produce in the fridge all we had to do was unpack our weekend bags! The kids rushed off to meet the pigs and chickens and check (frequently!!!) for fresh eggs as we instantly relaxed from our hectic London lives. Craig and Louise were perfect hosts and made us feel that we were old friends coming to stay and at the same time left us to get on with things. It was our son\'s 4th birthday (hence the zoo visit) and when the grandparents came back for birthday cake they too were impressed with the set up. Feeling rather exhausted from the travel down I slept on the magnetic bed and think it was the best nights sleep since before I had children! Small touches such as beautiful bed linen and bath salts make you feel pampered and special. It just goes to show that is is possible to stay away with small children and also feel like adults. Weather was on our side for the whole weekend- the kids were outdoors and slept like babies in the car on the way home. A big bonus! S&R, May 2013

 

A rejuvenating break - Witherdens Hall is away from the stresses of family and working life. There can be nothing better than an overnight stay with you! J.G, May 2013

 

Keep up the good work - Just a note to say THANK YOU for all your help with my Basic SRT course last weekend. I really appreciate your love, warmth, encouragement and support. Thanks for providing your beautiful retreat space to study and relax which made the course a wonderful experience. I would also like to thank you for your generosity, care and attention to all the small details like food, flowers etc. You do a wonderful job. Keep up the good work! S.V, February 2013

 

Perfect - I recently stayed at The Retreat and I was so pleased with the ambience, outlook and quality of the accomodation. Every detail had been considered, allowing us to relax and enjoy the break in the glorious Kent countryside. In a word; perfect. K.L, January 2013

 

Ready to tackle anything - We arrived pretty pooped after way too many hours and weeks hard at work on various projects to find that our every whim had been catered for. We were met with genuine warmth and abundance of Organics goodies. Not only that, the sense of calm that claims you is quite unique. We defy anyone not to leave fully rejuvenated, ready to tackle anything that life might throw your way.  P.G, September 2012